Daily Archives: October 28, 2011

Image

Rankings : My criteria: Fair and balanced

20111029-015415.jpg

1- Vatican News
2- AlJazeera
3-World News
4-NPR
5-USA today
6-LeMonde
7-BBC News
8-abcNews
9-CNN
9-Fox
11-NewYorkTimes
12-France24

The perseverance of a Translator

So, with the best intentions in mind, this started out as just a share on FB, just out of good faith, wanting to translate for my mostly English Audience what Sarkozy thought of Zucky. But the experience was quite different, and it actually made me realize that being a translator was not nothing short of complex work. With every word choice, there was a vocabulary court case, and an appeal and so forth, until you finally decide to “settle” for the choice of word that best describes ( to your understanding ) the meaning meant to be conveyed by the author. How do you objectively neutralize your subjectiveness? It becomes harder when you know both audiences, the source (this Facebook picture) and the target (my readers already acquainted with a vocabulary bag that I often subject them to). Believe it or not, I often get comments such as ” you love the word catalyze or immiscible” . Of course I smile, but not only because I do love to graft some chemistry onto almost everything, but because they noticed it. 🙂 so without further Ado

-Sarko and Zucky-

I quote: Great meeting and excellent exchange with Mark Zuckerberg, the founder of Facebook, currently in Paris for the e-G8 forum. Mark is a young,  brilliant and amicable entrepreneur, we’ve had the opportunity to freely discuss on topics such as the future of the internet and of the responsibility of the various parties affecting its evolution………….

Alright I give up……. And of course it raises important questions. This is just a caption, what about a book, what anout the all time best-selling book, in all of history combined by  HUGE margin, (by a margin as cataclysmic as that of  City MANhandling United this past week-end , HAHA). That book of course is the BIBLE.

And so with a spirit of humility, although not totally condoning it, I CAN NOW EMPATHIZE (in my failure to persevere as a translator) WHY THERE  ARE SO MANY DIFFERENT DENOMINATIONS.

St Jerome, Ora Pro Nobis.